• Today in Tudor history...

    26 May 1520 - Henry VIII and Katherine of Aragon met with Charles V at Dover

    Today in Tudor history...

    26 May 1536 – Princess Mary to Cromwell

    "Master Secretary, I would have been a suitor to you before this time to have been a mean for me to the King's Grace to have obtained his Grace's blessing and favor; but I perceived that nobody durst speak for me as long as that woman (Anne Boleyn) lived, which is now gone; whom I pray our Lord of His great mercy to forgive." Is now the bolder to write, desiring him for the love of God to be a suitor for her to the King, to have his blessing and leave to write to his Grace. Apologises for her evil writing; "for I have not done so much this two year and more, nor could not have found the means to do it at this time but by my lady Kingston's being here." Hunsdon, 26 May.

     

    Today in Tudor history...

     

    26 May 1538 – Geneva expels John Calvin and his followers from the city. Calvin lives in exile in Strasbourg for the next three years.

     

    source:http://www.british-history.ac.uk/

    « Today in Tudor history...Today in Tudor history... »