• Today in Tudor History...

    13 June 1483-Execution of William Hastings, 1st Baron Hastings.He was an English nobleman. A follower of the House of York, he became a close friend and one of the most important courtiers of King Edward IV, whom he served as Lord Chamberlain. He was executed on charges of treason by Edward's brother and ultimate successor, Richard III.

     

     

    1525 - Martin Luther marries Katharina von Bora, against the celibacy rule decreed by the Roman Catholic Church for priests and nuns.

    Today in Tudor History...

    1535 - Death of George Neville, 3rd Baron Bergavenny.He was an English courtier. He held the office of Lord Warden of the Cinque Ports.

    Today in Tudor History...

    1536-Princess Mary to Cromwell

    "Good Mr. Secretary, I do thank you with all my heart for the great pain and suit  you have had for me." I see by your letters that you mislike my exception in my letter to the King. I assure you I did not mean it as you take it, "for I do not mistrust that the King's goodness will move me to do anything which should offend God and my conscience. But that which I did write was only by the reason of continual custom; for I have always used both in writing and speaking to except God in all things. Nevertheless, because you have exhorted me to write to his Grace again, and I cannot devise what I should write more but your own last copy without adding or minishing, therefore I do send you by this bearer, my servant, the same, word for word; and it is unsealed, because I cannot endure to write another copy. For the pain in my head and teeth hath troubled me so sore these two or three days, and doth yet so continue, that I have very small rest, day or night." I trust in your goodness that the King may accept this; for I have no one to make suit to or ask counsel of but you. Hownsdon, 13 June.

     

     

    Today in Tudor History...

     

     

    source:http://www.british-history.ac.uk/

     

    « Today in Tudor history...Today in Tudor History... »