• Today in Tudor History...

    31 July 1192 – Richard the Lionheart landed on Jaffa and defeated the army of Saladin

     

    1402 – Death of Edmund of Langley, 1st Duke of York, son of Edward III of England and Philippa of Hainault

    Today in Tudor History...

    1464 – Death of Cosimo de' Medici, Italian ruler 

    Today in Tudor History...

    1498 – Christopher Columbus becomes the first European to visit what is now Venezuela.

    Today in Tudor History...

    1527-Henry VIII to Anne Boleyn

    For a present so beautiful that nothing could be more so I thank you most heartily, not only for the splendid diamond and the ship in which the solitary damsel is tossed about, but also for the pretty interpretation and too humble submission made by your benignity. I should have found it difficult to merit this but for your humanity and favor, which I have sought and will seek to preserve by every kindness possible to me; and this is my firm intention and hope, according to the motto, Aut illic aut nullibi. Your letter, and the demonstrations of your affection, are so cordial that they bind me to honor, love and serve you. I desire also, if at any time I have offended you, that you will give me the same absolution that you ask, assuring you that henceforth my heart shall be devoted to you only. I wish my body also could be. God can do it if he pleases, to whom I pray once a day that it may be, and hope at length to be heard. "Escripte de la main du secretaire qui en ceur, corps et volonte est vostre loiall et plus assure serviteure

    Today in Tudor History...

    The time seems so long since I heard of your good health and of you, that I send the bearer to be better ascertained of your health and your purpose; for since my last parting from you I have been told you have quite given up the intention of coming to court, either with your mother or otherwise. If so, I cannot wonder sufficiently; for I have committed no offence against you, and it is very little return for the great love I bear you to deny me the presence of the woman I esteem most of all the world. If you love me as I hope you do, our separation should be painful to you. I trust your absence is not wilful on your part; for if so, I can but lament my ill fortune, and by degrees abate my great folly.

    Today in Tudor History...

    1528-Henry VIII to Anne Boleyn

    Writes to tell her of the great "elengenes" he finds since her departure, "for, I ensure you, me thinketh the time lenger since your departing now last than I was wont to do a whole fortnight." Could not have thought so short an absence would have so grieved him, but is comforted now he is coming towards her; "insomuch that my book maketh substantially for my matter; in token whereof I have spent above four hours this day, which caused me to write the shorter letter to you at this time by cause of some pain in my head. Wishing myself specially an evening in my sweetheart's arms, whose pretty dubbys I trust shortly to cusse."

    Today in Tudor History...

    1530-THE DIVORCE.

    Papal mandate, inhibiting all persons, on pain of excommunication, from writing or intermeddling with the said cause, contrary to their conscience, through hope of reward or favor of any kind. 

    Today in Tudor History...

    1536-Lady Bryan to Cromwell.

    I beseech you to be good lord to me now in the greatest need that ever [was], for it hath pleased God to take from me him  ("hem") that was my most com[fort] in this world, to my great heaviness, Jesu have mercy on his  soul, a[nd] I am succourless and as a redeless creature but for my great trust in the King and your good lordship. When your lordship was last here you bade me not mistrust the King or you, which gave me great comfort, and encourages me now to show you my poor mind. When my lady Mary was born the King appointed me lady Mistress, and made me a baroness; "And so I have been a m[other] to the children his Grace have had since." Now, as my lady Elizabeth is put from that degree she was in, and what degree she is at now I know not but by hearsay, I know not how to order her or myself, or her women or grooms. I beg you to be good lord to her and hers, and that she may have raiment, for she has neither gown nor kirtle nor petticoat, nor linen for smocks, nor kerchiefs, sleeves, rails, bodystychets, handkerchiefs, mufflers, nor "begens." "All thys har Graces mostake I have dreven of as long as I can, that, be my trothe, I cannot drive it no lenger."

    Mr. Shelton says he is master of this house. "What fashion that shal be I cannot tel, for I have not sen it afore." I trust to your lordship, who, as every man reports, loveth honor, to see this house honorably ordered, "howsom ever it hath been aforetime." If the head of [the same] know what honor meaneth it will be the better ordered; if not, it will be hard to bring it to pass. Mr. Shelton would have my lady Elizabeth to dine and sup every day at the board of estate. It is not meet for a child of her age to keep such rule. If she do, I dare not take it upon me to keep her Grace in health; for she will see divers meats, fruits, and wine, that it will be hard for me to refrain her from. "Ye know, my lord, there is no place of correction there; and she is too young to correct greatly." I beg she may have a good mess of meat to her own lodging, with a good dish or two meet for her to eat of; and the reversion of the mess shall satisfy her women, a gentleman usher, and a groom; "which been eleven persons on her side." This will also be more economical.

    My lady has great pain with her teeth, which come very slowly. This makes me give her her own way more than I would. "I trust to God and her teeth were well graft to have her Grace after another fashion than she is yet; so, as I trust, the King's Grace shall have great comfort in her Grace. For she is as toward a child and as gentle of conditions as ever I knew any in my life, Jesu preserve her Grace. As for a day or two at a hey time or whansomever it shall please the King's Grace to have her set abroad, I trust so to endeavour me that she shall so do as shall be to the King's honor and hers; and then after to take her ease again. I think Mr. Shelton will not be content with this. He may not know it is my desire, but that it is the King's pleasure and yours it should be so." From Hunsdon with the evil hand of your daily bede woman.

    Apologises for her boldness in writing thus.

    Today in Tudor History...

    1541 – Death of Simon Grynaeus, German theologian and scholar

     

    1545 –Birth of  Andrew Melville, Scottish theologian and scholar 

    Today in Tudor History...

    1555 – Birth of Edward Kelley, English spirit medium

     

    1589 – Death of Jacques Clément,  assassin of Henry III of France

    source:wikipedia,http://www.british-history.ac.uk/
    « Today in Tudor History...Today in Tudor History... »