• Today in Tudor History...

    08 January 1499 – Louis XII of France marries Anne of Brittany.

    Today in Tudor History...

    1536 - Henry VIII celebrated the news of Catherine of Aragon’s death

    Eustace Chapuys wrote “the King was clad all over in yellow, from top to toe, except the white feather he had in his bonnet”

    Today in Tudor History...

    1541-Chapuys to the Queen of Hungary. 

     

    On the 3rd the lady Anne of Cleves sent the King a New Year's present of two large horses with violet velvet trappings and presented herself at Hampton Court with her suite, accompanied only by lord William, the Duke of Norfolk's brother, who happened to meet her on the road to this city. She was received by the Duchess of Suffolk, the Countess Darfort (of Hertford?) and other ladies, who conducted her to her lodgings and then to the Queen's apartments. Account of her interview with the Queen; whom she insisted on addressing on her knees, for all the Queen could say, who showed her the utmost kindness. The King then entered and, after a low bow to lady Anne, embraced and kissed her. She occupied a seat near the bottom of the table at supper, but after the King had retired the Queen and lady Anne danced together and next day all three dined together. At this time the King sent his Queen a present of a ring and two small dogs, which she passed over to lady Anne. That day lady Anne returned to Richmond.

    The Princess has not yet visited the new Queen, though she sent her a present on New Year's Day; at which her father was pleased, as well as at one he himself received from her. Is told he sent, her back two magnificent New Year's gifts from himself and the Queen. Despatches have come from the bp. of Winchester reporting the audience he had with “your Majesty.” The King and Council have been deliberating upon that despatch two days what answer to make, the expediency of sending into France, etc. They have sent two messengers thither within the last three days, and are going to send as ambassador the above lord William—a good young gentleman, but not suitable for such business; and Wallop will come back to take the command of Guisnes, though some say that has been given to Mr. Wingfield, vice-chamberlain and captain of the Body Guard. Some suspect Wallop has been recalled for fear he should withdraw, as the archdeacon of Lincoln did; for he was suspected at the time that he first returned to France, when the King sent several persons to find out the truth. Has heard nothing unpleasant yet about “your Majesty's” answer to the bp. of Winchester; these people seem satisfied with it. The Bp. made excuses for not having entered Valenciennes and spoken to “your Majesty” sooner about the said Archdeacon, whose withdrawal the Privy Councillors have been trying to keep as secret as possible, ordering all private letters to be opened to see if anything is said of it.

    The French ambassador sent word yesterday that he was going to Court to-day to present three venison pies, made of the largest wild boar ever killed in France, sent to the King by Francis. London,  Jan. 1541.

     

    1558 - French troops under duke de Guise occupy Calais

     

    1570 – Death of Henry Clifford, 2nd Earl of Cumberland

     

    1571 – Burial of Mary Shelton

     

    Today in Tudor History...

     

    09 January 1431 – Judges' investigations for the trial of Joan of Arc begin in Rouen, France, the seat of the English occupation government.

     

    1514 –Death of Anna, Duchess of Brittany 

    Today in Tudor History...

     

    1535- Chapuys to Charles V.

    Just after having finished my last letter of 30 Dec. I mounted horse to go with all possible haste "selon la grande compagnie que menvoie" to see the Queen. On my arrival she called roe at once, and that it might not be supposed her sickness was feigned and also because there was a friend of Cromwell's whom the King had sent to accompany me, or rather to spy and note all that was said and done, the Queen thought best, with my consent, that my conductor and the principal persons of the house, such as the chamberlain and steward, who had not seen her for more than a year, and several others, should be at our first interview. After I had kissed hands she took occasion to thank me for the numerous services I had done her hitherto and the trouble I had taken to come and see her, a thing that she had very ardently desired, thinking that my coming would be salutary for her, and, at all events, if it pleased God to take her, it would be a consolation to her to die under ray guidance (entre mes braz) and not unprepared, like a beast. I gave her every hope, both of her health and otherwise, informing her of the offers the King had made me of what houses she would, and to cause her to be paid the remainder of certain arrears, adding, for her further consolation, that the King was very sorry for her illness; and on this I begged her to take heart and get well, if for no other consideration, because the union and peace of Christendom depended upon her life. To show this I used many arguments, as had been prearranged with another person between the Queen and me, in order that my conductor and some of the bystanders might make report of it, so that by this means they might have the greater care of her life. After some other conversation, the Queen bade me rest after the fatigue of the journey, and meanwhile she thought she could sleep a little, which she had not done for two hours altogether during the six days previous. Shortly afterwards she sent for me again, and I spent full two hours in conversation with her, and though I several times wished to leave her for fear of wearying her, I could not do so, she said it was so great a pleasure and consolation. I spent the same period of time with her every day of the four days I staid there. She inquired about the health of your Majesty and the state of your affairs, and regretted her misfortune and that of the Princess, and the delay of remedy by which all good men had suffered in person and in goods, and so many ladies were going to perdition. But, on my showing her that your Majesty could not have done better than you had done hitherto, considering the great affairs which had hindered you, and also that the delay had not been without advantages (for, besides there being some hope that the French, who formerly solicited the favour of this King, would now turn their backs, there was this, that the Pope, by reason of the death of the cardinal of Rochester, and other disorders, intended to seek a remedy in the name of the Holy See, and thus, preparations being made at the instance of the Holy See, the King could not blame her as the cause), she was quite satisfied and thought the delay had been for the best. And as to the heresies here [I said] she knew well that God said there must of necessity be heresies and slanders for the exaltation of the good and confusion of the wicked, and that she must consider that the heresies were not so rooted here that they would not soon be remedied, and that it was to be hoped that those who had been deluded would afterwards be the most firm, like St. Peter after he had tripped. Of these words she showed herself very glad, for she had previously had some scruple of conscience because [the heresies] had arisen from her affair.

    Having staid there four days, and seeing that she began to take a little sleep, and also that her stomach retained her food, and that she was better than she had been, she thought, and her physician agreed with her (considering her out of danger), that I should return, so as not to abuse the licence the King had given me, and also to request the King to give her a more convenient house, as he had promised me at my departure. I therefore took leave of her on Tuesday evening, leaving her very cheerful; and that evening I saw her laugh two or three times, and about half an hour after I left her she desired to have some pastime (soy recreer) with one of my men "que fait du plaisant." On Wednesday morning one of her chamber told me that she had slept better. Her physician confirmed to me again his good hope of her health, and said I need not fear to leave, for, if any new danger arose, he would inform me with all diligence. Thereupon I started, and took my journey at leisure, lest any further news should overtake me on the road; but none came. This morning I sent to Cromwell to know when I could have audience of the King his master to thank him for the good eheer he had caused to be shown me in my journey, and also to speak about the said house. He sent to inform me of the lamentable news of the death of the most virtuous Queen, which took place on Friday the morrow of the Kings, about 2 p.m. This has been the most cruel news that could come to me, especially as I fear the good Princess will die of grief, or that the concubine will hasten what she has long threatened to do, viz., to kill her; and it is to be feared that there is little help for it. I will do my best to comfort her, in which a letter from your Majesty would help greatly. I cannot relate in detail the circumstances of the Queen's decease, nor how she has disposed of her affairs, for none of her servants has yet come. I know not if they have been detained.

    This evening, on sending to tell (qu. ask?) Cromwell what they had determined to do, that I might for my part do my duty, he told my man that just as he was entering the gate he had dispatched one of his own to inform me, on the part of the King and Council, that it was determined to give her a very solemn and honorable funeral both on account of her virtue and as having been wife of prince Arthur, and, moreover, for her lineage and relationship to your Majesty, and that, if I wished to be present, the King would send me some black cloth for myself and my servants, but that the time and place had not yet been arranged. I replied that, presuming that everything would be done duly, I agreed to be present, and that, as to the cloth, the King need not trouble himself about it, for I was provided. It is certain that they will not perform her exequies as Queen, but only as Princess, and for this reason I despatch in haste to Flanders one of my servants who will have time to go and come, that I may know how to conduct myself, for nothing will be done for 18 or 20 days. The Queen's illness began about five weeks ago, as I then wrote to your Majesty, and the attack was renewed on the morrow of Christmas day. It was a pain in the stomach, so violent that she could retain no food. I asked her physician several times if there was any suspicion of poison. He said he was afraid it was so, for after she had drunk some Welsh beer she had been worse, and that it must have been a slow and subtle poison for he could not discover evidences of simple and pure poison; but on opening her, indications will be seen. London, 9 Jan. 1535.

     

    1539 – Executions of Henry Pole, 1st Baron Montagu, and Henry Courtenay, Marquis of Exeter

    Today in Tudor History...

    1554 –Birth of Pope Gregory XV 

     

    1571 –Birth of Charles Bonaventure de Longueval, Count of Bucquoy

     

    10 January 1480 – Birth of Margaret of Austria, Duchess of Savoy 

    1645 – Archbishop William Laud is beheaded at the Tower of London.

    Today in Tudor History...

     

    source:wikipedia,http://www.british-history.ac.uk/,http://www.thedaringtruth.com/
    « Today in Tudor History...Today in Tudor History... »