• Today in Tudor History....

    21 June 1377 - Death of Edward III, king of England

     

    Today in Tudor History....

    1509-Preparations for the Coronation

     

    A "device for the manner and order of the Coronation" of Henry VIII, "rightful and undoubted inheritor of the crowns of England and of France," by the whole consent of the realm chosen and required to be King, and also of the Princess Katharine daughter of Spain and Aragonne, his wife, Queen of England and of France, to be solemnised at Westminster, on Sunday, 24 June, 1509.

    The King has proclaimed that all who claim to do services on Coronation day shall be in the White Hall at Westminster Palace, 20 June next, and has authorised the Earl of Surrey, Treasurer of England, the Earl of Oxford, Sir John Fyneux, Chief Judge, Sir Thomas Englefeld, and others to determine claims. He has ordered 26 honorable persons to repair to the Tower of London on 22 June, to serve him at dinner, where those who are to be made knights shall bear dishes "in token that that they shall never bear none after that day"; and on 23 June, at the Tower, they are to be made Knights of the Bath; "whose names follow in order as they were made," viz., Richard (sic) Radclyff lord Fitzwater, the lord Scroop of Bolton, the lord Fitzhugh, the lord Mountjoye, the lord Dawbeney, the lord Brooke, Sir Henry Clyfford, Sir Maurice Berkeley, Sir Thomas Knyvet, Sir Andrew Wyndesore, Sir Thomas Parr, Sir Thomas Boleyne, Sir Richard Wentworth, Sir Henry Owtrede, Sir Francis Cheyny, Sir Henry Wyotte, Sir George Hastynges, Sir Thomas Metham, Sir Thomas Bedyngfeld, Sir John Shelton, Sir Giles Alyngton, Sir John Trevanyon, Sir William Crowmer, Sir John Heydon, Sir Godarde Oxenbrige and Sir Henry Sacheverell.

    Today in Tudor History....

    1527 - Death of Niccolo Machiavelli

    Today in Tudor History....

    1528 – Birth of Maria of Austria, Holy Roman Empress,daughter of Emperor Charles V

    Today in Tudor History....

    1529 -Henry VIII and his first wife, Catherine of Aragon, appeared in front of Cardinal Wolsey and Cardinal Campeggio at the Legatine Court at Blackfriars. Catherine fell upon her knees before Henry VIII to proclaim her loyalty

    Today in Tudor History....

    Today in Tudor History....

    Today in Tudor History....

     

    “Sir, I beseech you for all the love that hath been between us, and for the love of God, let me have justice. Take of me some pity and compassion, for I am a poor woman, and a stranger born out of your dominion. I have here no assured friends, and much less impartial counsel…

    Alas! Sir, wherein have I offended you, or what occasion of displeasure have I deserved?… I have been to you a true, humble and obedient wife, ever comfortable to your will and pleasure, that never said or did any thing to the contrary thereof, being always well pleased and contented with all things wherein you had any delight or dalliance, whether it were in little or much. I never grudged in word or countenance, or showed a visage or spark of discontent. I loved all those whom ye loved, only for your sake, whether I had cause or no, and whether they were my friends or enemies. This twenty years or more I have been your true wife and by me ye have had divers children, although it hath pleased God to call them out of this world, which hath been no default in me…

    When ye had me at first, I take God to my judge, I was a true maid, without touch of man. And whether it be true or no, I put it to your conscience. If there be any just cause by the law that ye can allege against me either of dishonesty or any other impediment to banish and put me from you, I am well content to depart to my great shame and dishonour. And if there be none, then here, I most lowly beseech you, let me remain in my former estate… Therefore, I most humbly require you, in the way of charity and for the love of God – who is the just judge – to spare me the extremity of this new court, until I may be advised what way and order my friends in Spain will advise me to take. And if ye will not extend to me so much impartial favour, your pleasure then be fulfilled, and to God I commit my cause!”

     

    Campeggio to Salviati

     

    The King and Cardinal are much pleased with what you write—that the protestations and commissions of the Imperialists remain in the same state, and that they had not been signed, and that Stephen (Gardiner) and Brian would declare in what terms they left the matter. The King has great hope of hearing some good news for himself. The Lutheran affairs are appeased, and no one talks about them. I have returned thanks to the King and Cardinal. The King replied, "Let us expedite this my business, in order that I may apply my mind to these Lutheran affairs, and then I will do all things." I believe his Majesty will most certainly write, as I announced in my letter of the 4th of April.

    My lady Margaret and the Regent are to meet at Cambray. Henry would wish the cardinal of York to go to the congress; but he will not go unless this cause be first terminated; which result they are endeavoring to secure with all their might. As they believe the Queen will assuredly send to Rome, they intend to dispatch some one thither to supplicate the Pope not to grant the citation of this cause. Among other things, the King alleges that the Pope is in the hands of the Imperialists, and that it will not be safe for him to go to law at Rome.

    These people are much gratified with the advices from Rome respecting the Turk, although they receive news letters from Venice. I have received great consolation from the news you give me of the Pope's health, for bad news had been reported from Venice. London, 21 June 1529.

    Today in Tudor History....

    1533-Sir Thomas More  to Cromwell.

    According to my commandment at my last being with you, I have made search to know the truth of the breaking of the gaol.  I trust you will see that there was no fault in me. The culprit is Ric. Wyllsham, as appears by the confession of certain prisoners. The said Richard was formerly underkeeper, and confessed on the 18th inst., before Sir Giles Strangways, Hen. Strangways, Will. Wellburn, and others, that Thos. Phylypps, son and heir to Ric. Phylypps, under-sheriff last year, was the contriver of it. He is willing to depose the same before you. Phylypps has suddenly left the country, saying he would go to London. 21 June.

    Today in Tudor History....

    1544-Mary Queen of Scots to Henry VIII.

     

    Notwithstanding his unkind war upon her since her father's death, when he should rather have extended his puissance to her protection, she wishes him to understand the mind of the lords of her realm for peace. The authority of her Tutor and Governor is suspended and put into the hands of her mother and certain of the greatest nobles, who desire safe-conduct for ambassadors to treat and conclude peace with him, viz. Henry lord Methwen, William lord Ruthwen, Walter Ogilvy of Dunlugus and Adam Ottirburn of Reidhall, knights, or any three or two of them. Meanwhile begs a truce and abstinence of war by sea and land for one month. Striveling,Mary.

     

    1559 - Five bishops removed from their positions for refusing to take the Oath of Supremacy

     

    source:http://www.british-history.ac.uk/,http://www.onthisdayintudorhistory.com/
    « Today in Tudor History...Today in Tudor History... »