• Today in Tudor History...

    1 September 1414 – Death of William de Ros, 6th Baron de Ros, English politician, Lord High Treasurer 

     

    1525-Luther to Henry VIII

    Today in Tudor History...

    Apologizes for his attack on the King, which had been prompted, not by his own inclination, but by the incitement of those who were unfriendly to his Majesty. Has great hopes in the King's magnanimity. Was led to believe that the King's book was not the work of his Majesty, but of some crafty sophist, who had abused the King's name—præsertim illud monstrum et publicum odium Dei et hominum, cardinalis Eboracensis, pestis illa regni tui. Hears that the King begins to favor the gospel, and is weary of its wretched opposers. Will make a public recantation if Henry will only signify in what way he wishes it to be done. Will rejoice to find the King a professor of Christ and his gospel. Wittemberg, 1 Sept. 1525.

     

    1529 – The Spanish fort of Sancti Spiritu, the first one built in modern Argentina, is destroyed by natives.

    Today in Tudor History...

    1532 – Lady Anne Boleyn is made Marquess of Pembroke by her fiancé, King Henry VIII of England.

    Today in Tudor History...

    "The true order of the ceremony of the creacion of the marchioness of Pembroke."

    Directions for the ceremony, which exactly correspond with the account which follows.

    Creacion of lady Anne, doughter to therle of Wilteshier, marquesse of Penbroke."

    The lady was conveyed by noblemen and the officers of arms at Windsor Castle to the King, who was accompanied by the dukes of Norfolk and Suffolk and other noblemen, and the ambassador of France. Mr. Garter bore her patent of creation; and lady Mary, daughter to the duke of Norfolk, her mantle of crimson velvet, furred with ermines, and a coronet. The lady Marques, who was "in her hair," and dressed in a surcoat of crimson velvet, furred with ermines, with strait sleeves, was led by Elizabeth countess of Rutland, and Dorothy countess of Sussex. While she kneeled before the King, Garter delivered her patent, which was read by the bishop of Winchester. The King invested her with the mantle and coronet, and gave her two patents,—one of her creation, the other of 1,000l. a year. She thanked the King, and returned to her chamber.

     

    1557 – Death of Jacques Cartier, French navigator and explorer

    Today in Tudor History...

    1588 – Birth of Henri, Prince of Condé

    Today in Tudor History...

    2 September 1534-Catherine of Aragon to Thomas Cromwell

    Today in Tudor History...

    My good friend (especial amigo), you have laid me under great obligation by the trouble you have taken in speaking to the King my lord about the coming of my daughter to me. I hope God will reward you, as you know it is out of my power to give you anything but my goodwill. As to the answer given you that the King is content to take her to some house near me, provided I do not see her, I beg you will give him my hearty thanks for the good he does to his daughter and mine, and for the peace of mind (descanso) he has given me. You may assure him that if she were but a mile from me I would not see her, because the time does not permit me to go visiting (que yo ande en vistas), and if I wished it I have not the means (por faltarme aparejo para ello). But you may tell his majesty it was my wish that he should send her where I am, as the comfort and cheerfulness she would have with me would be half her cure (seria media salud para ella). I have found this by experience, being ill of the same sickness, and as my request was so reasonable and touched so greatly the honor and conscience of the King, I did not think it would be denied me. Do not forbear, I beseech you, to do what you can that it may be so. I have heard that he had some suspicion of her security,—a thing so unreasonable that I cannot believe it entered into his heart, nor do I think he has so little confidence in me. If such a thing be assumed, I beg you to tell his majesty it is my fixed determination to die in this kingdom; and I offer my person as security that if such a thing be attempted he may do justice upon me as the most traitorous woman that ever was born.

     

    3 September 1420 – Death of Robert Stewart, Duke of Albany 

    Today in Tudor History...

    1467 –Death of Eleanor of Portugal, Holy Roman Empress

    Today in Tudor History...

     

    1499 – Birth of  Diane de Poitiers,mistress of Henry II of France

    Today in Tudor History...

    1507 --Death of Thomas Savage,King's Chaplain and an Archbishop of York.He handled the marriage ceremony of Arthur, Prince of Wales to Catherine of Aragon.

    "A Lancastrian in politics, he was much trusted and employed by Henry VII....he was a courtier by nature, and took part in the great ceremonies of his time, the creation of Prince Henry as Duke of York, the meeting with the Archduke Philip, and the reception of Catherine of Aragon."

     

    1553 – Edward Courtenay was created Earl of Devon.

    Today in Tudor History...

    source:wikipedia,http://www.british-history.ac.uk/
    « Today in Tudor History...Today in Tudor History... »